top of page

Multi-FX or Stompboxes?

This is a debate that has typically divided guitarists into distinct camps. Most players firmly believe in one ideology over the other...but of course you can change your mind. You don't have to have a code that you staunchly defend as you would your football team, political party, religion or brand of chocolate bar, for example*. Here are some of the Pros and Cons for each. Not a definitive list and something that I consider to be a positive point might not work for you. You will see some ambiguity :) That's the beauty of this - do what works for you.

Multi-FX

Pros: Tidy, Compact, Variety of FX on offer, MIDI capability (as applicable), One stomp = multiple sound adjustments, Software upgrades, Price / Value

Cons: Digital menus to navigate, Programming sound patches, Reading manual usually essential, Compromised sound quality, Limited to factory included FX

Stompboxes

Pros: Choose (and change) dedicated pedal for each effect, Immediate access to controls, Fewer controls, One stomp = one job

Cons: Price / Value, Bulky, Weight, Requires additional equipment e.g. patch cables, power supplies and pedalboard, One stomp = one job (!)

My first forays into the world of guitar effects began a long, long time ago in a galaxy not that far away. After the initial horror of realising that the 16-year old me had blown the speaker of my mighty Sound City 10-watter, I came to understand that the swirling, fuzzy, distorted echoes I heard on all my fave records and tapes could not be achieved with a simple amplifier alone. My Dad swapped out the speaker and I had a much improved clean sound...but, what the heck? No Fuzz! Naturally enough, my first pedal was a distortion box (Boss OS-2) and I pretty much played guitar with it on all the time...as you do :) Eventually I added an Arion Stereo Chorus and pretty much played with both pedals on all the time. No respect for tone - just drench the amp with distortion and chorus and sure it sounded great :/

Of course, this stuff is addictive and there is even a name for it: GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome). I don't have a very bad case thankfully but I've tried numerous cures over the years and mostly drank from the Multi-FX pool. After progressing through a Digitech RP1 to the truly massive RP10 I used the latter for years. Digitech's distortion and overdrive sounds are / were notoriously bad (the clue is in the company name) but I always loved their effects so when paired with a Marshall JMP1 preamp the MIDI capabilities really opened my eyes and ears to the near limitless possibilities of sound for a guitarist. One stomp and I could change the amp channel to any one of 100 options, plus change the effects preset at the same time. This meant I could switch between a clean sound with stereo chorus, multi-tap delay and hall reverb to a heavy crunch tone with light flanging and tempo responsive echo...just by one touch of a footswitch. Amazing. No, really it was. If you enjoyed the process of reading manuals, navigating menus and sub-menus, learning to program the units, remembering which switch did what...and employing MIDI. I did :)

These days I've done a complete about-face. I'm using separate stompboxes and taking tap dancing lessons to improve my footwork. If I want the same variety of sounds I need to hit a number of pedals in a carefully coordinated fashion to make a similar transition to the one above. It means making adjustments on the fly, too. I have one Multi-FX device in the mix but it's much simpler to operate...as long as I remember to make the changes on stage in between songs. However, what I get in return is the immediacy of being able to adjust in real-time according the tonal requirements of the band and / or room. Plus, I get to choose the individual effects that I like the best (and that I can afford - not always the same thing!). No doubt about it, if you've got one box that can do a thousand things it's mostly going to do them all at an acceptable level most of the time but there has to be some kind of compromise on sound quality. If you have a thousand boxes - or say, 10 - you can handpick the best ones for your needs / budget. They are usually designed to do one job really well.

Ultimately, you pay your money and you make your choice but technology in music is always evolving and there will always be new 'toys' to try and buy. Some of them will revolutionise the way musicians work and some will be 'new and improved' versions of something that has stood the test of time. Exploring sound and tone is something that I particularly like doing and my set-up will change again in the future. Of that I am certain.

I am available to provide guitar lessons in the Blessington / Naas / Hollywood / Kilteel area. Use the contact form to find out more about my services.

Cheers

Shane

*The correct answers are Arsenal / Seattle Seahawks, none, none and Titan btw ;)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page