top of page

'Living on a lighted stage...'

I could hardly post a clip of 'Limelight' without including the head-shot this time...or could I? Such is the bitterwseet nature of a song about trying to maintain one's normality and privacy when you choose to perform in public for a living....I digress!

Sticking with the promise to myself that I would upload more videos of my actual playing, here's a snippet of the FM radio smash hit from Rush's 1981 album, Moving Pictures. It is a much celebrated song among Rush fans and Rock music fans in general. It's both catchy and complex - a feat achieved by only the true greats. Lots of light and shade in this one with the solo taking it's rightful place: front and centre.

Alex Lifeson is my favourite guitarist bar none and Rush are my favourite band bar none. Getting to jam with Geddy & Neil on this piece was most enjoyable ;) Often cited by Alex as featuring one of his favourite solos this is a song that also features many of his other trademark characteristics.

And yes, I would be happy to teach it!

I am available for guitar lessons in and around the Blessington Lakes area of West Wicklow.

Gear: 1995 Mexican Strat, Line 6 Podfarm (HiWatt 100W Head), Mooer Yellow Compressor, EHX Soul Food, EHX Small Clone, Boss DD-20, EHX Holy Grail Plus

Until later

Shane

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page